Hydration Experiment – Update

Something you always hear when trying to shed some weight is that you should drink plenty of water. I have such a hard time with this. I often forget, and when I remember, it’s because I’m already parched and only then realize I’ve had maybe one glass of water all day. I wonder how much this is really affecting me. It can’t be good. There is only one way to find out: Science!

I’m starting an experiment to see what happens when I suddenly drastically up my water intake to the recommended amount for my weight. I will follow up with the results in a couple weeks. Any tips on how to stay hydrated?

Update (8-8-13): I’ve had little success with this experiment, and that’s because I just can’t seem to stay hydrated. I don’t know why this is such a struggle for me.  I’ve tried carrying around a canteen. I’ve tried alternating with green tea for some variety. I even tried a mobile app that reminds me to drink water throughout the day. Nothing has worked for even a week.

A few weeks ago, I had the worst leg cramps in the middle of the night for several days due to dehydration. I think my body has become so used to being in a dehydrated state that I don’t even recognize when I’m thirsty anymore, which is obviously all the time. Any advice would be much appreciated. Water is so essential to proper functioning of the body that I worry about how much harm I may be doing by neglecting my water intake. And then I think about people who don’t have fresh water available to them like I do, and I feel worse about it. Is this what people refer to as a “First World Problem”?

Posted on August 8, 2013, in Health, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hmmm when using your mobile app, do you just kind of ignore when it reminds you to drink water?

    I am constantly sipping water throughout the day and it’s become such a habit that if I don’t have access to my water bottle or something, it kind of freaks me out. I carry my water everywhere with me like my wallet, so that reminds me to drink water, so I won’t feel like I carried it around for nothing lol.

    Not sure if this would have the same results as your mobile app, but what about an alarm clock you can set for every half hour or so? Or whenever you snack, drink 5 gulps of water before eating?

    • Thanks, Grace! I end up ignoring the app most of the time, because it goes off more often than is necessary. I’ve heard it takes two weeks to establish a habit, and that’s the point I’m trying to get to: where it becomes automatic for me. Haven’t tried setting an alarm, but this is a good idea, since it could also be break time from sitting at my desk. Thanks for the tip! 🙂

Leave a Reply

