Learning to Code

I haven’t been posting much in recent weeks, but that’s only because I’ve been working hard at learning some new tech skills. As I mentioned some time last year, starting this blog really piqued my interest in learning how to customize websites, as the templates offered through WordPress are great but often limited and restrictive.

A few weeks ago, I signed up for an online course with Skillcrush, a new company focused on introducing more women to coding and technology (men are also welcome). It was such a positive experience, and I highly recommend the site to anyone interested in learning the basics of how to build a website. In a short amount of time, I learned so much that I was able to code this website from scratch!

But the best thing I got from this experience was discovering how much fun coding can be. I enjoyed learning so much that I’m all signed up to take a Intro class in PHP (language that powers Facebook and WordPress) starting Monday with Girl Develop It. I’ve also become really excited about this movement to get more women into tech, and I decided that I definitely want to be a part of it. So it seems that after years of searching for the right career, somehow it found me.

About Paola Maldonado

Mobile Developer @BuzzFeed. Co-founder of NYC Tech Latinas. Follow me: @PaolaNotPaolo

Posted on March 6, 2013, in Life, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

