Let’s Meetup!

About a month ago I started a Meetup group for women. Before I go any further, I should explain that Meetup.com is a website that allows you to join or create local members-only groups based on interests, and to schedule group events called “meetups.” There are Meetup groups for just about any topic you can think of, and they are oddly specific. There are groups for Raw Vegan Singles, Jewish Cyclists, and Michael Jackson Fans. I belong to a group for Brooklyn girls and one for Paleo enthusiasts. More recently, I discovered a group that offers classes in web development for women. I’ve been to a few meetups and have always had a good time and learned something new.

When I created my own group, my goal was to gather women in their 20’s and 30’s who are not afraid to use the f-word (feminist), but who are not necessarily defined by it. I had no idea what to expect, but so far, the group has 12 members. I’ve organized two meetups, and there are others coming up in the next month. I’ve had the opportunity to meet a few of my members, and I have to say, it’s been an uplifting experience. We’ve had a lot of fun and laughs, as well as conversations about family, education, and career goals, which is exactly what I had hoped.

I would highly recommend checking out Meetup and giving it a shot. You’re not obligated to join any groups or attend any events, but you may be surprised to find that there are plenty of groups in your area that may be of interest to you–whether you want to make new friends, network with people in your line of work, play a sport, or just try something new.

Have you tried Meetup? What has been your experience with it?

About Paola Maldonado

Mobile Developer @BuzzFeed. Co-founder of NYC Tech Latinas. Follow me: @PaolaNotPaolo

Posted on February 19, 2013, in Life, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

