Music: My Life Partner


Daily Prompt: Musical What role does music play in your life?

I’m not a musician. I can’t read sheet music to save my soul. I don’t have a huge record or CD collection, and my iTunes collection is rather pitiful. Still, I think music has always played an important role in my life.

As a child, music was solely a way to celebrate. There wasn’t a single family gathering where salsa and merengue were absent, along with plenty of dancing. Sad music was unacceptable to me. I couldn’t even watch the Muppets because of their inevitable mopey songs, usually sung by the sensitive Kermit. Even then, music affected me, but I did not always understand or enjoy its effects.

I grew up and grew out of that, of course, once I got to know the world and myself a little better. I came to appreciate and eventually love the way that music stirs me emotionally, whether it amplifies the positive feelings of love and joy, or offers me solace in times of sadness and grief; whether I’m singing my heart out at a karaoke bar, dancing my butt off at a party, or simply tuning out the world during my morning commute. Like a faithful friend, music is always present.

About Paola Maldonado

Mobile Developer @BuzzFeed. Co-founder of NYC Tech Latinas. Follow me: @PaolaNotPaolo

Posted on January 27, 2013, in Daily Prompt, Life, Love, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Very Nice. Music is a mystery that cannot be explained. But I could not imagine my life without it!
    Shecky – http://sheckybass.wordpress.com/

  2. Like a faithful friend, it will never leave you.

  3. “Do you beleive in Rock and Roll, can music save your mortal soul…?” – Don McClean – American Pie. Sorry, you brought up reading sheat music and sould and I kept help myself. Music has been such an important aspect of my life for as long as I can remember – it’s how I first connected with my dad, it’s how I learned to think for myself by findind bands I liked rather than just going with “popular” music, it’s the rhythm behind every day… and sometimes that beat is the quick-quick-slow of a salsa. 😉

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Musical | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  2. Pingback: A Poetic Duet With JaneyBGood – “Murdering It On Karaoke Night” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

