To Toot My Own Horn

Daily Prompt: Toot Your Horn Most of us are excellent at being self-deprecating, and are not so good at the opposite. Tell us your favorite thing about yourself.

Hilarious book about modern feminism.

To be completely honest, I actually like many things about myself. I have not always felt that way, but there came a point when I accepted that I’m already in my 30s, and for better or worse, I am stuck with myself, so I might as well learn to like it. To be able to laugh about things you once felt ashamed or insecure about is wonderfully liberating. But, moving on to today’s prompt…

My favorite thing about myself is that I have a perpetually curious mind. I don’t profess to be brilliant in any way–far from it–but I am a bit of a nerd, and it is entirely due to the fact that I absolutely love learning. Nothing gives me a natural high like the moment I grasp a new concept or learn a new skill–I feel energized and driven to learn more.

The reason I think this is such a fabulous trait is because it keeps me from being the kind of person who is passive and gives up easily. Instead, I resolve to figure things out on my own–I do a ton of research, or buy a book or take a class. If I still need help, I hire an expert to teach me. I’ve taken singing lessons, writing and editing classes, career counseling, nutritional counseling. I currently have a book on learning to knit on my dresser and a book on learning HTML on my coffee table. The only downside is not having as much time or energy as I’d like, but I’m working on that too!

About Paola Maldonado

Mobile Developer @BuzzFeed. Co-founder of NYC Tech Latinas. Follow me: @PaolaNotPaolo

Posted on January 16, 2013, in Daily Prompt, Humor, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

