Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn…

The most inspiring quotes I know are from songs or movies that I love. My favorite movies feature great female leads: Scarlett O’Hara in Gone with the Wind, Holly Golightly in Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Elizabeth Bennett in Pride and Prejudice, and Penny Lane in Almost Famous. I keep coming back to these films and a few others, because I find these women inspiring in that they are strong, fiercely independent individuals who shamelessly outshine the women around them.

My absolute favorite of these films is Gone with the Wind. Though it is often portrayed as a romance, I’ve watched it enough times to know it’s really about the sharp, selfish, proud Scarlett and her many struggles during and after the Civil War. In one of the most well known scenes, a young Scarlett has caused a scandal by dancing in public while she is expected to be mourning the recent death of her husband. She jokingly says to her partner and would-be suitor Rhett, “Another dance and my reputation will be gone forever.” Rhett replies with, in my opinion, one of the best lines in the film:

“With enough courage you can do without a reputation.” 

All eyes on Scarlett

About Paola Maldonado

Mobile Developer @BuzzFeed. Co-founder of NYC Tech Latinas. Follow me: @PaolaNotPaolo

Posted on January 4, 2013, in Daily Prompt, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. When I was a kid I assumed Rhett was a jerk but when I finally saw the movie, I cheered when he walked out on her. Check out my post http://amandalovesmovies.com/2012/03/10/gone-with-the-wind/

  2. Gone With The Wind is my favorite movie too! Scarlet is such a powerful character she must most certainly have been a great inspiration to women who were powerless in many ways at the time of this movies release. She was proud and selfish … but not too selfish to go without food when others were in need and not too proud to tend crops when the food was needed, or to nurse the injured. A stubborn, yet courageous character 🙂

    • She’s such a great character. For all the mistakes that she made, she accomplished so much more than all the passive, weak characters in the film, including the men. And I love her fire!

Leave a Reply

