Guilty Pleasures

I got stood up, but I'm smiling because I learned how to create a smokey eye.

I got stood up, but I’m smiling because I learned how to create a smokey eye.

All right, I confess: I’m kind of addicted to beauty products. Okay, maybe not actually addicted, but it’s definitely a habit. I can’t pass by a Sephora without feeling like a junkie passing by a crackhouse. And I have my own mother to blame for it!

Though her shoes may be from Payless, my mom always has Clinique and Estee Lauder on her face. Growing up, we were a “working class” family, and money was always tight, so she would take advantage of “Gift Time,” when she’d buy one product and get five smaller products for free; new face creams, mascaras, lipsticks. Several times, she asked me to pick them up for her while I was out, and she was as happy as a kid with ice cream when I came home with her free gifts.

When I was around 12, she tried to get me to wear makeup. “You’re too pale!” she would say, “You need some color on your face!” I thought she was nuts. I didn’t feel the need to impress anyone, because I had no interest in boys, so I really fought her on it. As boy-crazy teens, my sister and I often borrowed my mom’s products, so much so that she had to buy us some of our own. I knew I was hooked when, upon losing my first job, I spent my last bit of money at Macy’s on a new facial cleanser, moisturizer, and foundation–and instantly felt better.

I find my thrill for beauty products so ridiculous, because, like my mom, I couldn’t care less about clothes, shoes, handbags, jewelry. I have to force myself to shop for these things, and I dread doing it. If it were up to me, I’d wear T-shirts, jeans, and sweatshirts to work, if not pajamas and slippers. But I’d probably still feel amazing when I have Dior on my face. And, hey, no one has to know….

About Paola Maldonado

Mobile Developer @BuzzFeed. Co-founder of NYC Tech Latinas. Follow me: @PaolaNotPaolo

Posted on December 18, 2012, in Daily Prompt, Humor, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. very pretty. guilty pleasures are the best

Leave a Reply

