Circle of Five

A writer once said, “You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.” If this is true, which five people would you like to spend your time with?

Chelsea Handler: I’ve read some of her books and find her to be such an oddball, which is my favorite thing about her. She is clever and mischievous, but she also strikes me as a loyal and generous friend. That, and our mutual love of vodka would make us fast friends.

Mindy Kaling: She doesn’t take herself too seriously, which is refreshing to see in television. Given how chatty and bubbly she is, I imagine we’d never run out of things to talk about. I’d like to have her over for dinner. Or better yet, she could cook me some dinner.

Caitlin Moran: I loved How to be a Woman, where feminist Moran hilariously dissects womanhood. Moran is a music writer in the UK and regularly mingles with top artists. I think we’d have a blast discussing our feminist views and then partying with my favorite bands.

I find these ladies and their stories inspiring. I admire their ambition and their independence, but mostly I admire the fact that they do not compromise who they are, and have instead built careers that allow them to do what they love and stay true to themselves. Though I don’t know them personally, I am thankful that I have such brilliantly funny women to look up to.

I have some wonderful people currently in my life as well!

David: I wouldn’t trade my time with my boyfriend David for anyone. He is so good-natured, patient and forgiving. If I’m lucky, his positive traits will rub off on me. If they were to somehow, I think I’d be a better, happier person. Here’s hoping.

david

Laughs with David

Izzy: Do animals count? Izzy is my first pet. David and I have had him for about a year. This goofy dog has brought out patience in me that I didn’t know I had. He’s become part of my little family, and I can’t imagine my life without him. Maybe, just maybe, I’ll make a good mother one day. Until then, Izzy is helping me get there.

Sir Isaac “Izzy” Newton

About Paola Maldonado

Mobile Developer @BuzzFeed. Co-founder of NYC Tech Latinas. Follow me: @PaolaNotPaolo

Posted on December 12, 2012, in Daily Prompt, Humor, Love, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Looks like Molly. Is he also a Yorky?

    • He’s a Silky Terrier. They’re very similar, but Silkies are a little bigger and weigh about 10 lbs. Molly is adorable!

      • She is adorable but very wild at times. I have a mini Schnauzer and she does with him as she likes. Runs, bites, jumps and he (that’s Trompie) just lets her go wild without getting excited hinself

      • Aww! Izzy is super energetic as well, and he loves attention and being pet. In fact, he often rubs up against our feet and legs. We are currently long-term cat sitting, and the two of them chase each other back and forth. I’d love to get a dog friend for Izzy in the future. My boyfriend would love a golden doodle. Right now, we just don’t have enough space in the apartment, especially not for such a large breed.

Leave a Reply

