Schmalentine’s Day

Daily Prompt: Cupid’s Arrow - It’s Valentine’s Day, so write an ode to someone or something you love.

Das Boot

David + Das Boot at Oktoberfest

I unintentionally wore a red sweater today. When David pointed it out over breakfast, I joked, “Ugh, now I have to change….” But I did not, because I really love this sweater and the way I look in it. This is the goofiest holiday of all. I don’t need a special day to love or feel loved. I eat chocolate almost every day, and David doesn’t believe in giving flowers as gifts, so that’s not happening either.

I am incredibly lucky to have two great loves in my life. Yes, two! There’s my boyfriend David, and my dog Izzy. What’s so remarkable is that I never imagined that I’d love either of them as much as I do. For months, I insisted that David and I would never work as a relationship. As for Izzy, I have never been attached to an animal in my life. In fact, I thought the idea quite ridiculous. And yet, these two bring me insane amounts of happiness–more than I knew was even possible.

But love isn’t all about romantic dates, flowers, chocolates, or stuffed animals. What about the other 364 regular old days when I’m just doing my best to share my life and my home with another human being and a small dog? It’s not always easy, and it’s not always fun, but that’s love too. Sometimes it’s in those moments of frustration or disappointment that I realize how much I care. I don’t just want the good stuff, I want all of it!

poppers in bed

Sir Issac Newton/Izzy/Mr. Puppers/Poppers/You little shit!

About Paola M Maldonado

These days, the bulk of my time is devoted to become a better iOS developer, but in my free time, I enjoy sharing stories and experiences from my life, especially childhood. Hope you enjoy!

Posted on February 14, 2013, in Daily Prompt, Life, Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 292 other followers

