Shoulda Woulda Coulda…

Daily Prompt: Shoulda Woulda Coulda

I am completely aware of the myriad of benefits of exercise. I have books, videos, equipment; I belong to two gyms; I have a dog that needs walking. And I know from experience that I feel great when I am active, but I will find any excuse to avoid it–not that I need a very elaborate excuse; “I’m tired” or “it’s too cold out” is usually sufficient.

It’s not that I’m a lazy couch potato. What it boils down to is that the idea of setting aside a time during my day specifically for exercise seems so unnatural to me. I wholeheartedly enjoy activities like walking, running, cycling, dancing, even rock climbing–but the moment I start to view them as an obligation, as something I need to do, because I’m getting fat and/or out of shape, the same activities that I love lose all their appeal.

But the fact is I am out of shape, and it’s precisely because I don’t get enough exercise; therefore, any effort I make to rectify this situation will feel forced, and I will vehemently resist it, because I do not like being told what to do by anyone, not even myself! I know what I need to do: change my attitude/perspective, but that’s easier said than done.

One thing is certain: I’m definitely not alone in this battle, otherwise the fitness industry wouldn’t keep growing while people are getting heavier and heavier. Does anyone have any suggestions or words of encouragement?

About Paola M Maldonado

These days, the bulk of my time is devoted to become a better iOS developer, but in my free time, I enjoy sharing stories and experiences from my life, especially childhood. Hope you enjoy!

Posted on February 13, 2013, in Health, Humor, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I have the same issues ! A few days ago I decided to take baby steps and do maybe five minutes of exercise everyday. Sometimes even 3 minutes feels like eternity but you can do it !

    • Thank you! That’s a great idea. I know once I get started I do enjoy myself, so instead of seeing it as some monumental challenge, I can start small. :) And good for you! :)

  1. Pingback: Shoulda Woulda Coulda; Don’t Won’t Haven’t « Jumbalya of thoughts and musings

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Shoulda Woulda Coulda…The Daily Post | Enchanted Seashells…Confessions of a Tugboat Captain's Wife

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Shoulda Woulda Coulda … Yes but, No but … | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Shoulda Woulda Coulda But……There’s Always A Reason Stopping Ya! | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 292 other followers

